United States Won Fourth World Cup Yesterday

The United States enlarged its legend in women’s football with its fourth title in eight editions of the World Cup. The North Americans, with goals in the second half of Megan Rapinoe of penal and Rose Lavelle, won to Holland by 2-0. Lyon dressed up with the two most colorful hobbies of the World Cup, but the equality in the stands did not move to the turf, with a US team clearly superior.

The first goal of the game came from a penalty kick, when Megan Rapinoe (61) converted a foul in the area from Stefanie Van der Gragt to Alex Morgan. The Dutch central raised much his left foot, touching the shoulder of the American forward, so that the French referee Stephanie Frappart, with help of the VAR, pointed out the punishment.

Rapinoe, who had already scored two penalties in the second round against Spain (2-1), added his sixth goal, which tied for first place in the table of goalscorers with his compatriot Morgan, both also with three assists. The goal, although it came from penalty, did justice to the merits of the Americans, who dominated the meeting and only the good performance of the Dutch goalkeeper Sari Van Veenendaal made that the victory was delayed.

After that much, the Dutch crouched only had to attack, because until then they had only opted for the counterattack. And being forced to open, they fit the second goal, in the 69th minute, when Rose Lavelle, in a personal play, drove the ball through the center, and shortly after getting into the area, scored her third goal of the tournament, with a cross-shot.

After that second goal, the chances of the United States followed, although the little success of the North Americans and the great game of the Dutch goalkeeper prevented a bigger score. The United States has never stepped down from the podium in the eight disputed World Cups, with four titles (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019), a sub championship (2011) and three third places (1995, 2003, 2007).

– Datasheet:

2 – United States: Alyssa Naeher; Kelley O’Hara (Ali Krieger, 46), Abby Dahlkemper, Becky Sauerbrunn, Crystal Dunn; Julie Ertz, Samantha Mewis, Rose Lavelle; Tobin Heath (Carli Lloyd, min 87), Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe (Christen Press, min 79).

0 – The Netherlands: Sari van Veenendaal; Desiree van Lunteren, Anouk Dekker (Shanice van de Sanden, min 73), Stefanie van der Gragt, Dominique Bloodworth; Jackie Groenen, Daniëlle van de Donk, Sherida Spitse; Lineth Beerensteyn, Lieke Martens (Jill Roord, min 70) and Vivianne Miedema.

Goals: 1-0, min.61: Rapinoe. 2-0, min.69: Lavelle.

Referee: Stephanie Frappart (FRA). He admonished Spitse (min 10), Dahlkemper (min 42) and Van der Gragt (min 60).

Incidents: final of the Women’s World Cup of France 2019 between the US and Netherlands national teams played at the Stade de Lyon.

About the author

David Evans

David is Editor-in-chief at Xtrapoint Football, He Has forayed in the Sports Sector for over five years, he enjoys his stint as an editor of several local magazines. He has written several editorials such as ESPN, BBC and CNN high-level documentation. On free time David loves Playing guitar and reading.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *